Mid-South Commercial Law Institute LogoMid-South Commercial Law Institute, Nashville, Tennessee
Mid-South Commercial Law Institute HOME
About Mid-South Commercial LawMid-South Commercial Law Seminar ProgramMid-South Commercial Law Seminar SpeakersMid-South Commercial Law Institute Seminar AccommodationsCLE Credits for Mid-South Commercial Law SeminarsMid-South Commercial Law Seminar Registration Mid-South Commercial Law Seminar Seminar Materials

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT
Donald (Don) M. Wright
dwright@sirote.com

VICE-PRESIDENT/PRESIDENT-ELECT
Jeffrey W. Maddux
jmaddux@chamblisslaw.com

TREASURER
Nick Foster
Nick.Foster@usdoj.gov

SECRETARY
Nancy B. King
nancy_king@tnmb.uscourts.gov

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Courtney H. Gilmer
cgilmer@bakerdonelson.com

DIRECTORS

Mike Abelow
mabelow@sherrardroe.com

Cara J. Alday
calday@pbsjlaw.com

David Canas
david@thompsonburton.com

Ryan Cochran
Ryan.cochran@wallerlaw.com

Steven N. Douglass
sdouglass@harrisshelton.com

Michael W. Ewell
mewell@fmsllp.com

Michael H. Fitzpatrick
mhf@qcflaw.com

Nick Foster
Nick.Foster@usdoj.gov

Margaret B. Fugate
mfugate@fglaw.com

Courtney H. Gilmer
cgilmer@bakerdonelson.com

Maurice Guinn
mkg@tennlaw.com

Robert C. Goodrich, Jr.
Robert.goodrich@stites.com

Ruthie Hagan
rhagan@bakerdonelson.com

Nancy B. King
nancy_king@tnmb.uscourts.gov

Tracy Lujan
Tracy.lujan@outlook.com

Jeffrey W. Maddux
jmaddux@chamblisslaw.com

F. Scott Milligan
fsm@littleandmilligan.com

Tim Niarhos
tim@niarhos.com

William L. Norton III
bnorton@bradley.com

Russell W. Savory
russell.savory@gwsblaw.com

Craig Smith
craig.smith@millermartin.com

Amanda Stofan
astofan@cw13.com

Michael T. Tabor
mtabor4@bellsouth.net

Shanna Veach
Shanna_fuller@tneb.uscourts.gov

Donald M. Wright
dwright@sirote.com

Gulam R. Zade
gzade@logicforce.com

 

MID-SOUTH COMMERCIAL LAW INSTITUTE HISTORY

For more than 30 years, the Mid-South Commercial Law Institute ("MSCLI") has conducted annual CLE seminars on commercial and bankruptcy law topics. Long before the advent of mandatory continuing legal education in most states, including Tennessee, Nashville attorneys Richard Dance, Paul E. Jennings, and James L. Roberts conceived the idea of an educational seminar for bankruptcy and commercial lawyers. They were motivated, in part to provide a local alternative to the Southeastern Bankruptcy Law Institute, but primarily in reaction to the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, which repealed the then existing substantive law on bankruptcy and replaced it with the Bankruptcy Code. Later, John H. Bailey, III, Thomas P. Kanaday, Jr., Bill Lincoln and Tom Sherrard joined the effort, each of whom contributed $1,000 of their own funds as seed money. On March 30, 1979, MSCLI was incorporated as a Tennessee not-for profit "to cultivate the study of the law, conduct educational programs on various aspects of the law… , publish and distribute educational materials, facilitate the administration of justice, elevate the standards of the legal profession and do all things reasonably convenient thereto."

The inaugural MSCLI seminar was held in downtown Nashville on September 27 and 28, 1979. Professor James J. White, co-author of Uniform Commercial Code, headlined the program. Over the years, the seminar has featured notable speakers such as Neal Batson, Vern Countryman, David Epstein, Jonathan M. Landers, Robert K. Rasmussen, and Robert S. Summers.

Throughout its history, the MSCLI board of directors, made up of attorneys from across the state of Tennessee, has been responsible for producing the seminar. Currently, members of the board serve staggered, five-year terms. The MSCLI has no staff. Members of the board are grouped into committees that take responsibility for all aspects of the seminar, from picking up speakers at the airport to seeking approval for CLE credit. Until 2001, when the materials were bound for the first time, the program committee chair had the responsibility to stuff the notebooks given to each registrant with the seminar materials.

Past Presidents of Mid-South Commercial Law Institute

Courtney Gilmer 2016-2017
Robin Bicket White 2015-2016
Brian Sellers 2014-2015
Michael E. Collins 2013-14
Ronald G. Steen, Jr. 2012-2013
W. Neal McBrayer 2011-12
John H. Rowland 2010-11
N. Sue Van Sant Palmer 2009-10
Kimberly C. Swafford 2008-09
J. Michael Winchester 2007-08
Barbara D. Holmes 2006-07
B. Gail Reese 2005-06
Richard C. Kennedy 2004-05
Randal S. Mashburn 2003-04
Beth Roberts Derrick 2002-03
David E. Lemke 2001-02
Bruce C. Bailey 2000-01
Shelley D. Rucker 1999-00
Katherine Simpson Allen 1998-99
William Crutchfield, Jr. 1996-97
Larry Stewart 1997-98
Bradley A. MacLean 1995-96
William L. Norton, III 1994-95
Rhea Bucy 1993-94
E. Franklin Childress, Jr. 1992-93
John C. McLemore 1991-92
Craig V. Gabbert, Jr. 1989-90
John H. Bailey, III 1988-89
Lawrence R. Ahern, III 1987-88
Stephen W. Ramp 1987 (Partial Term)
Paul E. Jennings 1985-86
James R. Kelley 1983-85

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


The entirety of this site ©2011 Mid-South Commercial Law Institute. All worldwide rights reserved.
Mid-South Commercial Law Institute conducts Continuing Legal Education (CLE) seminars on commercial law and bankruptcy issues, held in Nashville, Tennessee.